One hundred and eighteen records in the books from Nordic Trax and number one hundred and eighteen hits the spot.

Danford is a new five track EP from La Deep, a South African producer who returns from a five year hiatus. Living up to the moniker, this is moody, deep, nodding stuff, especially the title track which seems to shake with powerful vibes like a hunk of radioactive thorium emits gamma rays. Gavin Boyce’s remix of the same track is upfront and groovy. “Mos Lira No Kante” is the other stand-out track, with spring-loaded bouncy percussion and chords held so long they’re almost immobile. It masters the rare trick of seeming to become louder without touching the levels at all — just through layering and a driving intensity that picks up momentum.

La Deep’s Danford EP is out now digitally wherever you buy your shit.

La Deep: Danford EP (Nordic Trax / Digital)
1. La Deep: Danford (6:48)
2. La Deep: Danford (Gavin Boyce remix) (7:25)
3. La Deep: Skin (5:05)
4. La Deep: Requin Taureau (6:49)
5. La Deep: Mos Lira No Kante (6:59)

⚪️ Disclosure Statement: This record was submitted as a promo.


Previous Coverage:
Luke McKeehan on 20 Years of Nordic Trax (2018)
Jon Delerious drops acid, lofi jazz and more on Can’t Hold Back (2021)
Review: Anywhere Here, the new album by Gavin Boyce (2021)
Honeydripper Releases Haven’t Lost Hope on Nordic Trax (2019)
Gavin Boyce: Haboo EP (Nordic Trax) (2015)


Originally published in 5 Mag issue 201 featuring the making of Detroit techno documentary God Said Give Em Drum Machines, 10 years of Heist with Dam Swindle, Nala on Mi Domina, Ultra Nate, Steve Mill, what Spotify is doing to dance music (and why it’s a bad thing) & more. Help support 5 Mag by becoming a member for just $1 per issue.

More like this? Get it in your inbox: