The first album from UK producer, songwriter and multi-instrumentalist Jim Baron (aka Ron Basejam, aka Crazy P co-founder) under his JIM persona sounds to this writer like a triumph.

Love Makes Magic is a potent distillation of some of the musical strands included under the “Balearic” umbrella: Laurel Canyon singer-songwriter acoustic ballads, slick yacht rock, understated and sophisticated disco, and Baron weaves them all together into a superb album that’s introspective and intimate and open and welcoming at the same time.

All those years putting together premier disco-soul-house in Crazy P and turning out Ron Basejam underground 4/4 jams that slapped have left their mark. Even as he approaches folkish territory, Baron can’t shake off his dance music pedigree and there’s a sensibility here that is present in every twist of the EQ in the mix and in every placement of percussion or bass, a feel that comes from our dance music culture and hangs over the whole endeavor. Whether it’s delicate acoustic folk, instant-Balearic dance floor classics, blue-eyed soul, or streamlined yacht rock, it all goes through Baron’s dance music filter, so to my ears there’s a trace of some kind of house music / rave culture feeling in every track.

In short, Love Makes Magic soothes and soars; just brilliant.

⚪️ Love Makes Magic Tracklisting

JIM: Love Makes Magic (Vicious Charm Recordings / Vinyl / Digital)
1. Across The Street (05:50)
2. A Life In Between (05:19)
3. Where The Leaves Are Falling (05:09)
4. Oxygen (04:08)
5. Still River Flow (05:02)
6. The Ballad Of San Marino (07:04)
7. Phoenix (03:40)
8. Sea Of Unbelonging (04:54)
9. Then We Do It Again (04:08)
10. Love Makes Magic (05:29)

⚪️ Disclosure Statement

This record was submitted as a promo.

⚪️ Previous Coverage

⚪️   Ron Basejam delivers the slightly weird but highly danceable goods on “Music People” (2022)
⚪️   Love & Resistance is another unsurprisingly strong EP from Crooked Man (2023)
⚪️   Ron Basejam: Disco Denizen (2019)
⚪️   Ashley Beedle, Crazy P & more remix Bent’s single “Friends” (2021)
⚪️   Hot Mixing with Hot Toddy (2019)


5 Mag Issue 208
Out July 2023

WE STILL CALL IT HOUSE: This was originally published in 5 Mag Issue #208 featuring the story of Chicago house music collective 3 Degrees Global, a tribute to DJ Deeon, a cover mix by and profile of Gratts, Detroit vocalist Diviniti, John Davis of the disco’s scariest orchestra, the great vanishing of pirate sites more. Help keep our vibe alive by becoming a member for $2/month and get every issue in your inbox right away!

More like this? Get it in your inbox: