UK producer, DJ and live performer Paddy Thorne’s Lost Cause Pt. 2 is an album of quality techno-tinged electro and, without wishing to labour the point, electro-tinged techno. Across ten tracks, some of which he’s apparently been working on since 1997 Thorne delivers weighty but subtle funk-filled electro beats which are then covered in rich chord pads, tinkling synths and heaps of fat acid lines.

Detroit is obviously an influence here, particularly in the acid squelch/warm-pad combo of tracks like “In My Mind” and “Simpler Things” and the mood is generally spacey, cosmic electronic-funk, with a hint of melancholy to some of the melodies. It’s mostly in the 125-130ish BPM range but he also drops in a sonic-palette cleansing D&B-tempo track, “Massively Distorted,” halfway through.

It sounds like there’s plenty of sound design going on throughout and Thorne’s rhythms tracks have a box fresh feel to them too. “Deep Zone” provides a little more of a house flavour, but not in a 909 beats, Juno b-line, disco vocal sample way, this is house music that’s a little more future-facing.

Perhaps it’s the fact that this music was worked on over a long period of time that gives each track its own unique flavour. But Thorne also has a particular style and set of influences too, so the whole album has a sonic cohesion. Finally, there’s a refreshing lack of ambient filler or throwaway intro/outro tracks: instead you just get a set of solid, techno-tinged electro jams for when you fancy giving your dance floor a drifty, spacey, funky vibe for awhile.

Paddy Thorne: Lost Cause Pt. 2 LP (Mighty Force / Limited Edition CD / Digital)
1. Paddy Thorne: Simpler Things (05:34)
2. Paddy Thorne: E.A.ONE (05:09)
3. Paddy Thorne: Empty Visions (05:22)
4. Paddy Thorne: Green Theme (06:32)
5. Paddy Thorne: In My Mind (06:06)
6. Paddy Thorne: Massively Distorted (07:37)
7. Paddy Thorne: Define Anointed (06:43)
8. Paddy Thorne: Rendered (05:54)
9. Paddy Thorne: DeepZone (05:56)
10. Paddy Thorne: Best Before 2022 (06:00)

⚪️ Disclosure Statement: This record was submitted as a promo.



Originally published in 5 Mag issue 201 featuring the making of Detroit techno documentary God Said Give Em Drum Machines, 10 years of Heist with Dam Swindle, Nala on Mi Domina, Ultra Nate, Steve Mill, what Spotify is doing to dance music (and why it’s a bad thing) & more. Help support 5 Mag by becoming a member for just $1 per issue.

More like this? Get it in your inbox: