Yesca Y2000 album artwork

Y4 Collective is a new label that launched in March. Their debut four track V/A is all over the place, which I think is the point of a new label starting off with one, but the needledrop starts chewing out the groove with Yesca’s “Y2000” and that’s the one that stayed me. This is a quality deep house track with a nice groove to it. Yesca is pretty fearless in pushing the envelope — layered voices intertwining with one another and an energy level that grows into an eruption. You pull something like this apart and you can tell: it would have been very easy to write a straight-ahead deep track, drop in some stock vocal clips and strip out anything interesting in hopes of attracting mass appeal. It would have been easy, but wrong. This is a great track and I’m looking forward to what’s next.

Yesca: Y2000 (Y4 Collective / March 2021 / Digital)
1. Yesca – Y2000 (06:49)
2. Amoroux – Dancin’ With Devils (07:00)
3. Dan Be – No Mstks (05:58)
4. Techniscje Loef – You Know I Am (06:31)

⚪️ Disclosure Statement: This record was submitted as a promo on behalf of the label.



This was originally published in 5 Mag issue 189: #DieTrying with Josh Milan, Ashley Beedle, Terry Farley, Jackie Queens & more. Support 5 Mag by becoming a member for just $1 per issue.




Comments are closed.