808 State have dropped a second heap of beats and another teaser from their forthcoming album.

Subsequent Granada Report follows Initial Granada Report, released last month amid announcements of 808 State’s forthcoming Transmission Suite LP. The album will be the first new 808 State album in 17 years.

The EP is – in a word – weird. It leads off with the spiny, primitive stomp of “Marconi” which is a pretty choice cut. “The Ludwig Question” (previously available here) blasts you with footwork, mumbly bass and broken beats and “Spiral Arms” hearkens back to an era of big open field raves and the chipmunked rave anthems that ruled them.

“Marconi” and “Spiral Arms” are exclusives; “The Ludwig Question” and “Cannonball Waltz” are both previews from the Transmission Suite album. (You can see the full tracklisting for Transmission Suite here.)

808 State Transmission Street listening

Like Initial Granada Report and Transmission Suite, Subsequent Granada Report references Manchester’s defunct Granada broadcaster which launched 808 State into the mainstream of British music and served as a catalyst to Manchester’s burgeoning music scene. The album was recorded in Granada’s former home – a space that “hadn’t been cleared out for what seemed like decades and was full of now defunct technology: a teleprinter, teletext stuff, boxes of floppy discs,” they wrote.

Also on Friday, 808 State announced they will hold an album listening party in Manchester, UK on October 12 2019. This date is allegedly “National Album Day,” so that’s relevent! 808 State’s “mini-rave” will take place at Piccadilly Records Manchester at 4:30pm. Tickets are available here.

Listen to Subsequent Granada Report on Spotify:

Subsequent Granada Report is also available as a digital download on Beatport, Traxsource and other digital download shops.

808 State: Subsequent Granada Report

1. 808 State: Marconi (03:58)
2. 808 State: The Ludwig Question (04:31)
3. 808 State: Cannonball Waltz (05:15)
4. 808 State: Spiral Arms (05:52)


#ListenUp: New sounds from the underground: new House Music tracks, Techno tracks, Deep House tracks and an eclectic mix of new releases from the electronic music underground. Updated daily, M-F.

Artist: 808 State
Title: Marconi (from Subsequent Granada Report)
Release Date: August 30 2019